Coming up for Air

Hi! I’m Katie King. I am both excited and anxious as I set out on this blog. I’ve never actually talked to anyone about the childhood sexual abuse (CSA) that I lived through, though there are a few people in my life that know about the physical and emotional abuse, as well as neglect, that happened when I was little.

I have been coping with most of it on my own for nearly twenty years (or not coping, as the case may be). God has been there for me when I’ve let Him, but it took me a long time to realize that He wanted me and would heal me if I allowed Him to.

Now, I think it’s time to share my story, and the ways that I’ve learned to handle the pain and shame, and what God has taught me about compassion and my own self-worth. I’m still recovering memories of what happened to me, still learning, and still having bad days. I just hope that I can help someone else, even one person, come through this more easily than I have.

God bless,

Katie

Leave a Reply

